A Quartet of Rolls

Its been such a challenge buying FRESH Kosher fish in Michigan. Every one I ask buys the frozen salmon at Costco. Ewwwwwwww…Theres no fish like fresh fish! My family loves fish. Fried-Baked-Cooked-Raw…whatever. So I did a little research on google, and found few fish markets. The most popular place was Superior Fish Company in Royal Oak. It’s a family owned store, that’s been around for over 70 years.

photo-3

There is a stipulation according to Jewish Law (Halacha) that in order for a fish to be kosher it has to have both fins and scales. But only cycloid or clenoid scales are acceptable. These scales are easy to remove. Placoid and ganoid are not acceptable scales, because when they are removed they damage the fish’s skin. Crustaceans are crabs, lobsters, shrimps, krill, prawns. These creatures are not kosher either because they have no scales at all.

So I drove to Royal Oak to check it out. I was greeted by a really friendly man. I told him I had just moved in from out-of-town and was looking for a place to buy fresh fish. I explained to him that I needed only kosher fish, and that the next time I come, I would bring my own knife so he can fillet the fish for me. To my surprise he already knew about kosher, he pulled out a bag marked KOSHER with a knife inside.

They had a great selection of fish. I asked him for sushi grade fish, and he told me that as much as he would love my business, he didnt have the best quality sushi grade fish. He told me to go to a store called Noble Fish. I really appreciated his honesty. They exemplify their mission statement which is “Honesty is our policy. Always be honest with your customers and suppliers. Respect them. Repay their loyalty with your loyalty.” They will definitely see more business from me.

It was also kid friendly. There was a dolphin kiddie ride for 1 cent. Olivia rode on it like 10 times. When she got bored we went to watch the lobsters. Who needs Sea World?

photo-2

I decided to make sushi for dinner, Daniel and Alexander are obsessed. In LA we used go out for sushi all the time. Unfortunately there are NO kosher sushi restaurant in Michigan.  When I make it, its such a treat. Everyone is happy.  Happy husband+happy kids=happy me!

(From left to right)

Tomago, Avocado, Imitation Crab roll topped with Teriyaki Salmon belly

Avocado, Crab, Celery roll topped with Spicy tuna

California roll topped with Salmon

California roll topped with Tuna Tartar

IMG_4339

Sushi Rice

2 cups sushi rice

2 1/4 cup water

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp rice wine vinegar

In a fine mesh strainer wash the rice very well until the water runs clear. (This step in very important. Sushi rice is very starchy, all the excess starch must be removed.)

I make all my rice in a rice cooker. It comes out perfect every time, and I don’t need to stand by watching. Turn on the rice cooker. When rice is ready let it stand for 10-20 min. Transfer the hot rice into a bowl, add sugar and rice wine vinegar. Mix the rice very well.

While the rice is cooking, I prep for the sushi. You can cut up anything you want in your roll; avocado, cucumber, crab, asparagus, carrot, tomago etc…

Wrap the salmon in paper towel to get out as much moisture. Keep in the fridge until ready to slice for sashimi.

IMG_4248IMG_4249

Spicy Mayo

1/2 cup Mayonnaise

1/2 cup hot sauce

2 tsp sesame oil

2 tsp rice wine vinegar

Mix all ingredients together.

Tuna Tartar

1 pound tuna

2 tsp chopped jalapeno

2 tsp finely diced ginger

1 finely chopped scallion

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tsp sesame oil

2 tsp sweet or spicy chili sauce

1 tsp rice wine vinegar

2 tsp lemon or lime

1 tsp soy sauce

2 tsp sesame seeds

black pepper to taste

Avocado cubed (optional)

Chop the tuna in small cubes. Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate. Combine all the ingredients (except for tuna, avocado and sesame) together. Just before serving combine the remaining ingredients.

IMG_4262

Spicy Tuna

1/2 pound tuna

1 finely chopped scallion

3 tbsp Spicy mayo

With a spoon scrape the flesh. You will notice white lines on the fish. Theses are easy to remove. These lines are a soft sinew that are not suitable for sashimi, but great for putting inside sushi rolls.

IMG_4267

Discard the sinew

IMG_4270

Mix the scallions, tuna, and spicy mayo. refrigerate until ready to use.

Teriyaki Salmon Belly

1 salmon belly strip or 1 pound of salmon

1/4 cup teriyaki sauce (I only use VH brand teriyaki, sold in Canada)

3 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 finely chopped scallion

1 tbsp oil

Marinade salmon for at least 1/2 hr. Heat a pan on the stove top, on a med high heat. When the pan is heated, lower the heat to medium and add oil and salmon (without marinade). Cook for 5 min and then flip over salmon. Now add the marinade. Cook for another 3-5 min or until fully cooked.

IMG_4311

Spread the rice on the seaweed. In order to keep the rice from sticking to your hands, have a small glass of water nearby and slightly wet your hands. You can add anything inside your roll. make sure you roll it tightly.

IMG_4296

IMG_4302

Cut up the rolls and plate. Be creative with toppings, the options are endless! 

 IMG_0484

18 thoughts on “A Quartet of Rolls

  1. This blog post is awesome!!
    The sushi looks soo god, better than Yakimono!
    I wish we could have come for dinner.
    Your pictures look really great too!
    So proud of you, way to go Hunny!!

    • VH teriyaki has just the right amount of sweetness as well as tanginess. It also has a great consistency. Its more of a glaze.
      I find that the kikkoman teriyaki its very salty. Kikkoman can be good if you are adding it to a sauce with many other ingredients. Where VH can be used as the main ingredient. Ive also tried many other teriyaki brands, but nothing comes close. They have great products…I will gd willing post about it.

  2. I’m so happy that I’m looking at ur blog right now. I have been Wanting to make sushi, but forgot how to make the rice and different ideas for sushi. Thank you so much. I don’t have a rice cooker, would it come out the same if I use a pot?

Leave a Reply

