Dear Daniel, What do you want???

IMG_0555

Daniel and I have been married for 6 years. In those six years he cooked dinner twice (in the first year). He made sesame crusted tuna, and tacos. They were actually pretty decent for someone who never cooks. I don’t know what got into to him tonight, but he made dinner for the third time. I’m not sure if it was because he was sorry for pissing me off this morning, or because he wanted me to post his food in my blog. He claims that he wanted to help because I wasn’t feeling well.

Surprisingly he made a really tasty dinner, so I decided to post it. Daniel I LOVE you soooooo much!!!!

Such concentration!

IMG_4839

We bought a steelhead fish this afternoon in Costco. It looks very similar to salmon, but it is part of the trout family. It actually looks so similar that a while back my father in law didn’t believe me, and even after I proved it to him by showing it to him on the internet, he STILL argued with me that it wasn’t trout. The flesh of the steelhead is very tender and has a mild nutty flavor.

When I walked into the kitchen to get dinner started, I saw all these ingredients all over the counter. I said, what are u doing???? He insisted on making dinner. The control freak that I am in the kitchen I had to know what he was making. I looked at the recipe he found online and of course I’m already telling him what to change. Do this, and do that, add this, and take that out…

I would normally give credit to the original recipe, but it was completely changed.

He also made corn,

IMG_4832

salad,

IMG_4831

even Aaliyah’s baby food (steamed zucchini and sweet potato)!

IMG_4847

Along the way he broke the knife…Whatever Daniel touches turns to scrap!

IMG_4844

But most importantly, when he was done he cleaned up and washed the dishes!

IMG_4829

I hope you all enjoy and maybe this will inspire some hubbies/boyfriends!

Steelhead Fish with Maple Glaze
by: Daniel Khodorkovsky
Ingredients
  • 2 pounds Steelhead fillet
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 2 1/2 TBSP Maple syrup
  • 1 TBSP Honey
  • 2 TBSP brown sugar
  • 2 TBSP rice wine vinegar
  • 2 TBSP Dijon mustard
  • 2 TBSP Soy sauce
  • 1 TBSP canola oil
  • Black pepper to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a sauce pan on medium heat combine all the ingredients, cook for 3-5 min until bubbling.
  3. Place the fish in the middle of a cut piece of foil long enough to fold over.
  4. Pour the hot glaze on top of the fish and cover completely with the foil.
  5. Place the wrapped fish in a baking dish.
  6. Bake for 25 min.
  7. Garnish with sesame seeds and fresh lemons
12 thoughts on “Dear Daniel, What do you want???

  1. דניאל כל הכבוד על היוזמה להכנס למטבח של חני. הדג נראה טעים מאוד והכי חשוב שחני נהנתה מארוחת הערב . אני מקוה שימין יפתיע אותי גם באיזה ארוחה מוצלחת. דניאל ישר כוח!

Leave a Reply

