Beyond Chocolate Mousse…

DSC00800

I was debating on what to write about and realized I haven’t blogged about any deserts yet. There are those who like to cook, those who like to bake, and others who hate them both…but I Love Love Love cooking and baking equally. I also Love eating and feeding food as well.

To me, being busy is the greatest feeling; the rush of getting lots of things done in a minimal time gets my adrenaline pumping! It gives me energy and when the outcome is perfect…it’s very rewarding.

I usually like to bake and cook on separate days. It’s less of a mess…I dont like having all of my kitchen tools out at once. I would rather have the rolling pins, pastry bags and mixers on one day and the pots, roasting pans and mandolins on the other. It doesn’t always work out that way, but I try to make it happen. 

Some deserts need to be eaten on the same day they are made. Since I’m usually really busy with my three kids I’m always looking for deserts that can be made in advance and still taste fresh and delicious. This Chocolate mousse is one of those fabulous deserts that can be made ahead of time.

You can either serve the mousse in individual shot glasses, or in a springform pan. If you do make it in a springform pan, use cookies such as Oreo’s, or tea biscuits as a crust (base). I like to individualize them because it’s annoying to cut the mousse and plate it at the table. They can also be served frozen or just cold. I freeze them and take them out 5 min before serving.

My guests, family and I go crazy for this mousse. The texture is perfect, and the taste is beyond!

Over a double boiler (I put water into a pot and then a saucepan on top), or in the microwave, gently melt the chocolate.

DSC00755

When the chocolate is melted, set aside and let it cool.

DSC00761

While chocolate is cooling, separate eggs. Make sure that the bowl is completely dry. If there is even a drop of water the egg whites will not stiffen.

DSC00758

With an electric mixer beat the eggs. When the eggs begin to stiffen, slowly add the sugar and continue mixing for another minute or two until stiff peaks form and the mixture is very white and shiny.

DSC00766

Gently beat one egg yolk at a time into the chocolate untill smooth.

DSC00763

Using a spatula, gently fold the egg whites in two batches into the chocolate.

DSC00770

If you are using a narrow glass, pipe the mouse into the shot glasses.

DSC00777

DSC00799

DSC00802

The mousse needs to be refrigerated for at least 3 hours before serving. I usually make a lot in advance and  freeze. To secure the shot glasses I place them in a cake pan.

DSC00803

Before serving garnish with whip cream and chocolate shavings.

DSC00817

CHOCOLATE MOUSE

Ingredients

  • 10.5oz Good quality chocolate (I use Alprose or Scharffen Berger)
  • 5 eggs separated
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla sugar
  • 1 tsp instant decaf coffee (optional)
  • Whip Cream (to make parve you can use rich’s whip, or nutri whip mixed with instant vanilla pudding powder)

Instructions

  1. Over a double boiler or in the microwave, gently melt chocolate.
  2. When the chocolate is melted, set aside and let it cool. (Optional: at this point you can stir in instant coffee)
  3. While chocolate is cooling, separate eggs.
  4. With an electric mixer beat the egg whites. When the eggs begin to stiffen, slowly add the sugar and continue mixing for another minute or two until stiff peaks form and the mixture is very white and shiny.
  5. Gently beat one egg yolk at a time into the chocolate untill smooth.
  6. Using a spatula, gently fold the egg whites in two batches into the chocolate mixture.
  7. Pipe the mouse into the shot glasses.
  8. Refrigerate or freeze the mousse for at least 3 hours before serving.
  9. Garnish with whip cream and chocolate shavings.

DSC00879

4 thoughts on “Beyond Chocolate Mousse…

  1. Made this last week to serve at my sons bday .. Always a hit … By the way I made your salmon Wellington recipe and everyone loved it!

  2. I made the mouse this past Shabbat it was a huge hit!! I had no leftovers. You know it is good recipe when people ask for seconds . Thanks!

Leave a Reply

