Sweet and Spicy Purim Theme Beef Jerky

DSC01136

DSC01126

Friends have been calling me for the last few weeks wanting ideas for creative and never before done Michloach Manot. The theme is the easy part, deciding what to put inside is the challenge. Yes, you can fill it with candy, and chips but no one likes having 100 pounds of junk in the house. And so many times I received broken cookies, mashed up cupcakes, or foods that need to be refrigerated.

It’s been almost 8 years since Daniel and I were running around Bed Bath and Beyond registering for wedding gifts. I was pointing that gun at just about every kitchen utensil. People kept telling me “you’re going to use that once and that’s it!” Little did they know… I’ve already replaced some items because they’re worn out.

Out of all the items that I scanned Daniel picked ONE. One and only One; A food dehydrator! I was like what is this thing? A food dehydrator is a machine that cooks food at a low temperature and dehydrates it at the same time. It is commonly used for Beef Jerky, but can also be used for fruits as well, like fruit roll ups, etc… I never tasted Beef Jerky until Daniel introduced me to it at Le Marais in NY, and I loved it!

Lately, he has been bugging me to make it for him. After some thought I realized this would be a perfect food to put in Michloach Manot. It’s somewhat nonperishable; you can store it in a cool dry place, in an airtight container for at least 2 months. But either way it would be devoured. And that is the reason I barely make it at home, Daniel will pound it to the last bite.

Here are Five Easy Steps to Making beef Jerky:

Pick out-Slice-Marinate-Pat dry-Dehydrate

  1. Pick out a lean cut of meat. Be sure to trim all fat, because it will turn rancid. Best Kosher cuts which ive used: Kalichal, gold tip roast, London broil, and brisket.

DSC01062

2. Slice Meat. Flash freeze the meat for an hr or two depending on thickness. This will slightly harden the meat making it easier to slice. I like my jerky to be a little thicker but I make thinner slices as well.

DSC01068

DSC01074

DSC01079

3. Marinate. I marinate the meat for 24 hours. I’ve never made the same sauce twice. Its fun to experiment with new flavors.

DSC01082

4. Pat dry. Remove the meat from the marinade and Pat dry with paper towels.

DSC01085

DSC01101

5. Dehydrate. Evenly distribute meat onto dehydrators discs. Plug in the dehydrator and follow manufactures directions.

DSC01105

DSC01089

Devour it!

DSC01150

DSC01141

BEEF JERKY

Ingredients

  • 2-3 pounds lean meat
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce (make sure it does not say fish or F near kosher symbol)
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 3 minced garlic cloves

Instructions

  1. Trim all fat off meat
  2. Place in freezer for one to two hours until slightly firm.
  3. Slice the meat into thin strips.
  4. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl, and transfer to a ziplock bag. Let it marinate for 8-24 hours.
  5. Strain the meat, and pat dry on paper towels.
  6. Evenly distribute meat onto the dehydrators discs. Plug in the dehydrator and follow manufactures directions. (It took 5 hours for this batch)

DSC01106

13 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Purim Theme Beef Jerky

  1. Well I probably will not get myself a dehydrator, so I really wish I lived near you so I could taste these. They look delicious and I love that you used three types of sweetener with the soy sauce. Great, novel idea for mishloach manot!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Truffles and a Giveaway!!! | s.w.a.c.

  3. Pingback: 15 Jerky Recipes To Get Your Chew On | Homemade Recipes

Leave a Reply

