Green Veggie Quinoa Salad

DSC01657

In my post “Quinoa Pasta With Vegetable Marinara”, the used the word DIET. I need to take it back because it is unfitting. When I think “diet”, starvation, tiny portions, and crappy tasting food comes to mind. You are not supposed to feel hungry after you eat? What’s the point of eating if you’re always going hungry? What’s the point of food if it tastes bad? So I answer that with…”Don’t diet, just eat healthy”.

Since I have been eating healthy, it is my body that tells me when I am full, not Weight Watchers, or Jenny Craig. I no longer have cravings for sweets, or carbs. No more late night candy runs in the kitchen. I feel completely satiated, free of cravings.

Last night I made Meat Lasagna because we had guests over, and I couldn’t refrain from continuously picking at it. After we ate I had a sweet tooth and ate chocolate. It’s a brutal sequence of events, one that’s difficult to be stopped. “Foods low in calorie density also tend to be higher in satiety, one can fill up on much fewer calories without having to go hungry and without having to weigh, measure or portion control our food”.

So far I’ve lost 12 pounds, and VERY happy, but that’s not all I am happy about. Physically I feel engergetic, and less tired. I sleep better, have NO acne, and digest my food perfectly B”H. I’ve also saved over $200 on food this month just by not buying dairy, meats, chicken, and fish. Loosing weight, feeling great and saving money, what more could you ask for? Ahhhhhh…pizza, lasagna, cakes, burgers, french fries…and that’s exactly why we are not vegan on the weekends. You can just imagine how much more we look forward to Shabbat!

This salad has the perfect amount of crunchiness and chewiness. Half of the veggies are cooked and the other are raw. It is important to eat produce in its raw state. The heat of cooking reduces vitamins, proteins and fats; it also destroys enzymes that help with digestion. Raw foods have the best balance of water, nutrients, and fiber. This salad has a lot of flavor from the quinoa and vegetables, but I splash some Bragg Liquid Aminos on top (a healthy soy sauce substitute). Enjoy and I will be posting more healthy foods and dinner ideas!

DSC01612DSC01620

DSC01624

DSC01628

DSC01630

DSC01638

DSC01626

DSC01639

DSC01642

GREEN VEGGIE QUINOA SALAD

Ingredients

  • 2 cups edamame (in shell)
  •  10 asparagus
  •  2 scallions
  • 3/4 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1/2 cup spinach or kale
  • 1/2 cup cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup brocoli slaw
  • 2 cups quinoa
  • 4 cups vegetable broth or water
  • 2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds
  • 4 tablespoons toasted sliced almonds or pine nuts
  • 2 tablespoons craisins (optional)
  • 2-4 tablespoons Bragg liquid aminos

Instructions

  1. In a medium sized pot bring 4 cups of water to a boil. Add edamame and cook for 3-4 minutes, drain. (I buy the frozen edamame shells from Costco)
  2. Bring 4 cups of vegetable broth to a boil, add quinoa, broccoli slaw and cauliflower. Cook covered for 15 minute on a medium heat.
  3. Chop asparagus, scallions, sugar snap peas (strings removed), and spinach.
  4. Remove edamame from its shell and add it to the bowl.
  5. Pour steaming hot cooked quinoa into the bowl with the vegetables. Mix and cover for 5 minutes allowing the steam to slighty cook the vegetables.
  6. Before serving sprinkle salad with sesame seeds and almonds.

DSC01647

DSC01644

4 thoughts on “Green Veggie Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

