Chocolate Truffles and a Giveaway!!!

DSC02010

I was doing research on chocolate truffles and came across a site that lists the world’s best truffles. The prices ranged from $120/lb – $2,600lb. I would have no problem spending $2,600 on a bag or gorgeous dress, but spending that much on a piece of chocolate would kill me.

It’s so fascinating what people spend their money on. I like spending money on luxuries that are materialistic, but when it comes to 5 star hotels, first class plane tickets, and other luxuries that don’t last long I become cheap. Daniel would rather spend money to fly first class over a pair of expensive sunglasses, or buy a 30-year bottle of Scotch Whiskey than a nice suit. His idea of luxuries are different from mine, but as much as I love food I don’t think I’d ever be able to spend an insane amount on chocolate. However, I do wonder how much more amazing they taste than the average $2-$3 truffles.

The truffles I made this morning were decadent, creamy and Oh SOOOOO good! You’d be surprised how easy and quick these are to make. Much less time than making cookies or a cake. Godiva sells truffles in gift boxes for a hefty price. You don’t need much to make 16 beautiful and delicious truffles at home; a pretty box, 20 min to prep and about $8 worth of ingredients.

DSC01861DSC01867 DSC01869 DSC01872 DSC01876 DSC01877 DSC01879 DSC01975 DSC01978 DSC01980 DSC01984  DSC02005

CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES

Ganache:

  • 10.5 ounces fine quality chocolate chopped
  • 1/2 cup  heavy cream, rich’s whip or nutri whip
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoons unsalted softened butter,margarine or coconut oil

Coating:

Option 1

  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • Cinnamon or cayenne pepper (optional)

Option 2

  • 5 ounces melted chocolate
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup chopped toasted nuts (almonds, pecans, hazelnuts, walnuts, pistachios) or;
  • toasted shredded coconut or;
  • sprinkles.

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Lightly coat a baking dish with cooking spray. Lay two sheets of parchment paper in a pan perpendicular to one another.
  2. In a double boiler or Microwave melt chocolate stirring occasionally, about 2 minutes. If you are using microwave heat for 30 seconds at a time. When melted set the bowl aside.
  3. Heat cream 1-2 min.
  4. Stir honey, vanilla, and salt into cream and pour mixture over chocolate. Slowly stir the mixture until combined.
  5. Stir in butter until ganache is smooth and shiny.
  6. Transfer ganache to the baking dish. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.
  7. Remove chocolate from the baking dish. Cut chocolate into 1-inch squares.
    1. Option 1: Sift cocoa powder, and confectioners sugar, and cinnamon through a fine-mesh sieve. (you can add cinnamon, cayenne or any other spices you like)
    2. Option 2: Melt chocolate and stir in sugar. Dip each ball into the melted chocolate and immediately roll into chopped nuts until evenly coated.

    Lightly coat hands with cocoa mixture, and roll each square into ball. Transfer balls to the cake pan with either mixture. Roll balls around, until evenly coated.

  8. Transfer truffles to airtight container,  and refrigerate.
  9. Before serving, remove truffles from the fridge and let them sit at room temperature for 8-10 minutes.

I think it’s about time for a GIVEAWAY!!! I wanted to give something original, so my husband recommended that it be a Food Dehydrator ($70 value). Loved the idea, I use it to make beef jerky, which is always the biggest hit. I also use it to make fruit leather, dried fruits, crackers, salmon jerky, ect…

To enter the giveaway you must “like” my page on facebook. When I reach 1000 “likes” the winner will be chosen. Good luck and thanks for reading 🙂

DSC02034

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Truffles and a Giveaway!!!

  1. I also made truffles for the linkup, but I wasn’t satisfied with their plumpness and figured the shorter freezing time instead of longer refrigeration time was the problem. Sure enough, you used the fridge method and yours look like they hold their shape really well. Glad I got to see another take on these. Thanks!

  2. you should know that scientifically speaking, the vacations actually give you a better band for your buck, studies have shown that materialistic items, no matter how pleasing will eventually cease to make you happy, once you become used to having that item in your life (incidentally, the Talmud says: one who has a hundred, wants two hundred), however a positive experience will forever give you pleasure and happiness, because the every time you relive the memory, you will relive the happiness of the moment

    • Dont get me wrong, we go on vacation all the time. But I rather rent an economy car, over a luxury; or stay at a Hilton rather than the four seasons. But when it comes to clothes, shoes, and servingware I prefer Chanel and Michael Aram over Gap and Homegoods. And of course you need moderation with everything in life. Thanks for reading and love hearing feedback:)

  3. The truffles are gorgeous and look like they taste divine. I also loved the food for thought about what people spend their money on. I like to buy plates and flatware so I have lots of different things to serve food from. And I disagree that people who have “things” are never satisfied and always want more. The things I buy, I use and love. I never buy anything just to “have” them.

  4. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have take note your stuff prior to and you are just too
    fantastic. I really like what you’ve received right here,
    really like what you’re saying and the best way during which you are saying it.
    You’re making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep
    it sensible. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a terrific website.

Leave a Reply

